adlibrary.com Logoadlibrary.com
Share
Advertising Strategy,  Platforms & Tools

ChatGPT Sponsored Agents Just Shipped, and Nobody Is Tracking Them Yet

OpenAI's Sponsored Agents shipped Sept 16 with HubSpot and Shopify pilots. What's confirmed, what's unknown, and why no tracker covers it yet.

ChatGPT sponsored agents launch illustration showing a chat interface handing off to a sponsored agent conversation

ChatGPT sponsored agents went live on September 16, 2026 — four days before this was written — and nobody in the ad-tracking business has caught up to them. OpenAI didn't run a keynote.

Trade coverage picked up a pilot running with select US advertisers, specifically naming HubSpot and Shopify integrations, framed closer to a feature flag flipping on than a product launch. That quiet framing is the story. Every tool built to watch ChatGPT ads was built to watch a block sitting below an answer, not a conversation that keeps running after the click.

TL;DR: ChatGPT sponsored agents, launched September 16, 2026, are post-click conversational agents an advertiser runs inside ChatGPT once a user has clicked into a sponsored placement — a new post-click surface, not a new ad slot. OpenAI has piloted the format with select US advertisers, including HubSpot and Shopify integrations, and has disclosed almost nothing else: pricing and targeting remain unpublished, along with measurement and a broader rollout date. No aftermarket tracker claims to cover them, so competitive visibility into this format doesn't exist yet.

What ChatGPT sponsored agents actually shipped

OpenAI's ad product has moved fast since it started. Ads went live for logged-in US adults on the Free and ChatGPT Go tiers on February 9, 2026, as a labeled Sponsored block sitting below a completed answer — never injected into the model's own response. Self-serve buying opened May 5.

Shopping ads with catalog feeds followed May 12. A 31-market European expansion landed August 24. By late August, ChatGPT Ads had reportedly reached a $1 billion annualized run rate in under 200 days, and the EU designated ChatGPT a VLOSE under the Digital Services Act days after that.

Sponsored agents are the next rung. Search Engine Roundtable reported the launch on September 16, describing post-click conversational agents sponsored by advertisers and piloted with a small set of US partners. Quartz separately named HubSpot and Shopify integrations as part of that pilot. Beyond those two facts, the public record goes quiet fast. That echoes what we found when we tested ChatGPT ads directly earlier this year: OpenAI's own disclosures ran thin even for the simpler, static format.

How sponsored agents differ from the Sponsored block

The Sponsored block and sponsored agents solve different problems for an advertiser, and conflating them is the easiest way to misjudge this launch. One is a placement. The other is a session.

DimensionSponsored blockSponsored AgentsConfirmed?
Where it sitsBelow a completed answer, clearly labeledOpens after a click, inside a live agent sessionBoth confirmed
What the user doesReads or clicks a static cardContinues an ongoing, advertiser-run conversationInteraction depth not disclosed
LaunchedFebruary 9, 2026September 16, 2026Confirmed
Buying accessSelf-serve via OpenAI Ads Manager since May 5Pilot only, select US advertisersConfirmed
Named participantsAny self-serve advertiserHubSpot and Shopify integrationsConfirmed
Published measurementNone — no reach, frequency, demographics or holdout testingNot disclosedGap confirmed on both

The Sponsored block competes for a moment of attention next to an answer. A sponsored agent competes for the rest of the session. That's a genuinely different ad product, not a bigger version of the same one, and it deserves its own line item on a media plan rather than a footnote under "ChatGPT ads."

What a post-click conversational agent means for buyers

"Post-click" used to mean a landing page — something an advertiser's own pixel could measure, A/B test and own end to end. A sponsored agent moves that moment inside OpenAI's interface instead. The attribution trail that used to run through the advertiser's own domain now runs, at least partly, through a conversation the advertiser doesn't fully instrument.

What OpenAI hasn't published matters here more than what it has. There's no example transcript, no stated scope for what an agent can access or do, no disclosed guardrails beyond the base product's.

Whether a sponsored agent behaves like a scripted product-Q&A bot, a genuine agentic AI system with tool access, or something narrower sits entirely in the unverified column right now. Treating "post-click conversational agent" as a settled category — the way chatbot for customer support is settled — gets ahead of what OpenAI has actually said.

For a buyer used to Meta's or Google's model, this is the real adjustment: the AI agent the shopper talks to after clicking isn't fully yours to inspect, the way a landing page is. You're sponsoring a conversation happening on someone else's runtime.

Who can access ChatGPT sponsored agents right now

Access is a pilot, full stop. HubSpot and Shopify integrations are the only named participants, and OpenAI hasn't announced a self-serve path, an application process or a waitlist. That's a different rollout shape than the Sponsored block took: that format opened to any US business through OpenAI Ads Manager within three months of its public debut. Four days in, sponsored agents show no sign of following the same open timeline, and there's no confirmed reason to assume they will.

It's also worth being precise about what's not yet linked to what. The Free-versus-ChatGPT Go tier split governs who sees the Sponsored block as a viewer. Nothing in the current record says whether sponsored agents follow that same viewer-side gate, extend to paid tiers, or use a different mechanism entirely.

If you're mapping this against a custom GPT or agent-building workflow you already run, the honest answer today is: wait for OpenAI to say more, not for a tracker to infer it.

Dashboard showing tracked ad data next to an empty panel representing the ChatGPT sponsored agents tracking gap

Why no tracker covers ChatGPT sponsored agents yet

The existing aftermarket — SE Ranking's ChatGPT Ads Tracker, Adthena, Similarweb AI Ads, Cloro, a handful of smaller trackers — was built around a structural bet: that a Sponsored block is a fixed-enough object to sample. Run enough prompts through a panel, screenshot what renders, and you get a directional read on ad transparency coverage, a landscape we've mapped across platforms before.

One SE Ranking study of 50,006 commercial prompts found paid placements on 25.94% of prompts. 14.35% of those ads were semantically unrelated to what was actually asked, a reminder that even the simpler format is being measured imperfectly today.

A conversational agent breaks that sampling method at the root. There's no static card to screenshot, no single render to diff against yesterday's. OpenAI's usage policies also bar automated scraping outside the official API, and no official API for either ad format exists yet.

Add heavy personalization — the same premise that makes Meta's own Ad Library incomplete on spend and audience data — and you get a format with no fixed placement, no ad ID and no permalink. Nothing for a tracker to index, let alone backfill.

This is the same structural gap the Digital Services Act is trying to force closed from the regulatory side. ChatGPT's VLOSE designation carries an Article 39 obligation: a public ad repository covering who paid, who's targeted and how many people saw each ad. That deadline lands January 2027 — and it was written with static placements in mind, not agents that run a different conversation with every user. No repository exists yet, for either format.

adlibrary's own approach to multi-platform ad search and API access assumes something a tracker needs to work at all: a stable, revisitable ad object per platform. Meta and TikTok give you that. So do LinkedIn and Google, however imperfectly.

A sponsored agent, as shipped, doesn't — which is a genuinely different problem than "nobody's built the tracker yet," and worth saying plainly instead of assuming the gap closes on its own timeline. If your team treats ad data as an input to other AI agents, that's the piece to flag before wiring anything up against this format specifically.

What to watch before you commit budget

Nothing here is a reason to build a campaign plan yet. It's a reason to watch the right five things instead of the format itself:

  • Access. Does OpenAI open sponsored agents beyond HubSpot and Shopify, and on what timeline — self-serve like the Sponsored block, or an extended pilot.
  • Measurement. Whether OpenAI publishes anything comparable to reach, frequency or conversion data for agent sessions, given it withholds even the triggering prompt from advertisers on the existing ad product.
  • Pricing. No rate card exists for sponsored agents. The $3-5 CPC range reported for the standard Sponsored block tells you nothing about how a conversational placement gets priced.
  • EU treatment. ChatGPT's VLOSE status and its GDPR-driven consent model govern the existing ad product in Europe; whether sponsored agents launch there at all, and under what consent rules, is unstated.
  • Tracker coverage. Whether any vendor — SE Ranking, Adthena or a new entrant — builds a method that actually works against a conversational format instead of a static one.

If your team already tracks GEO — how AI search visibility affects citations in tools such as ChatGPT, Perplexity or Google AI Overviews — sponsored agents belong on that same watch-list. They sit at the intersection of paid and organic AI visibility in a way the Sponsored block never quite did.

Teams already preparing for ChatGPT ads more broadly should treat this as a separate line item, not an upgrade to the one they're already planning around. For a wider view of where OpenAI's ad stack sits next to Meta's ad system or how it stacks up in a Claude versus ChatGPT comparison, that's worth revisiting once agents have more than four days of public record behind them.

Frequently asked questions

What are ChatGPT sponsored agents? They're post-click conversational agents that an advertiser runs inside ChatGPT after a user clicks into a sponsored placement, launched September 16, 2026 and piloted with select US advertisers including HubSpot and Shopify integrations.

How are sponsored agents different from ChatGPT's Sponsored block ads? The Sponsored block is a labeled placement below a completed answer that launched February 9, 2026. Sponsored agents are a separate, later product that opens a conversation after the click instead of ending at it.

Can any advertiser buy ChatGPT sponsored agents right now? No. Access is currently a pilot limited to select US advertisers named around HubSpot and Shopify integrations, with no announced self-serve path or waitlist.

Is there a tracker for ChatGPT sponsored agents? Not yet. Every existing ChatGPT ad tracker, including SE Ranking's ChatGPT Ads Tracker and Adthena, was built to sample a static Sponsored block; none claims coverage of the conversational sponsored-agent format four days after launch.

When will ChatGPT sponsored agents be available to more advertisers? OpenAI hasn't published a rollout timeline. The Sponsored block went from limited testing to self-serve access in under three months, but nothing confirms sponsored agents will follow the same schedule.

Sponsored Agents move the transaction past the click, into a conversation the advertiser doesn't fully own or measure. That's a different product from an ad block beside an answer, not a bigger version of it. Watch who gets access before you watch the format itself.

Curious what else is shipping quietly across AI ad platforms? Start a free trial or check pricing to see how adlibrary tracks the formats that already have a fixed object to index.

Related Articles